If you test positive for coronavirus the app will ask you to share your result. This will notify others they were near someone who has tested positive for coronavirus. No one will be able to know who you are by sharing your result.
If you select 'Do not notify others' or do not make a selection, and 24 hours have passed, the app will send you a reminder to notify others. Read how the NHS COVID-19 app alerts people you've been in close contact with.
The alert will say: "A reminder to notify others. This will make sure that others know that they were near someone who tested positive for coronavirus."