If you booked your coronavirus test through the NHS COVID-19 app, your test result will be updated automatically in the app. If you booked the test a different way, read about how to link your test result to the app.
Once your app knows your test result, you'll be asked for permission to share this data anonymously so that people you’ve been in close contact with recently will be alerted.
The request to share the data will ask you to “share your device’s random IDs”. When you select share, your app is able to send an alert to users you’ve been in close contact with during the period you may have had coronavirus. These alerts will never identify you. Read more about who gets an alert if you test positive.
To protect your privacy, if you do not choose to share this data, your close contacts will not receive an alert.