If you have not updated your app to v3.9 or higher, you may get notifications saying “Possible COVID-19 Exposure”. These are generated automatically from the Apple or Google technology the NHS COVID-19 app uses. Read more about how to update your app.
Your phone will tell you whenever it detects that you’ve been near someone who has tested positive. Sometimes, you may still receive this message even when the app’s risk-scoring algorithm has decided that you were not close enough, for long enough, to be at risk.
If you receive this notification, you will also receive a second notification from the NHS COVID-19 app. This will either tell you to self-isolate or you’ll get an “Exposure Check Complete” notification, in which case you do not need to do anything. If you do need to self-isolate, this will always be visible within the app as a self-isolation countdown timer.
Automatic Apple iPhone notifications
On Apple iPhones, the notification will read: “Possible COVID-19 Exposure. Verifying exposure info. The app has accessed the date, duration and signal strength of this exposure.”
The notification will look like this on Apple iPhones:
Automatic Android phone notifications
On Android phones, the notification will read: “Possible COVID-19 exposure. Someone you were near reported having COVID-19. Exposure date, duration and signal strength have been saved.”
The notification will look like this on Android phones: