The NHS COVID-19 app will tell you if it detects that you have been in close contact with someone, who has tested positive for coronavirus, this means close enough, for long enough to need to self-isolate.
The Google and Apple Exposure Notification system that the app is built on might send you automated “Possible Covid-19 Exposure” notifications. This is when you have been near someone who has tested positive for coronavirus. The NHS COVID-19 app will check, using its risk-scoring algorithm, to see if you were close enough, for long enough to need to self-isolate. If you do not need to self-isolate, the app will send you the COVID-19 Exposure Check Complete notification to confirm this.
The notification will say:
“COVID-19 Exposure Check Complete. Don’t worry, we have assessed your risk and there is no need to take action at this time. Please continue to stay alert and follow the latest advice on social distancing.”
The notification will look like this:
If you receive this notification, you do not need to self-isolate.
You only need to take action on the Apple or Google message if you’ve been advised to do this from the app. If you do need to self-isolate, this will always be visible within the NHS COVID-19 app as a self-isolation countdown timer.