The NHS COVID-19 app uses Apple and Google Exposure Notifications. When exposure logging is switched on, Apple or Google may send you notifications. These may be called “COVID-19 EXPOSURE LOGGING” or “COVID-19 Exposure Notifications”.
Sometimes it may seem as though these messages disappear, or you cannot click into them. These are default messages from Apple and Google to remind you that the technology is working. There is no need to be concerned if you miss or overlook them.
You are currently not able to turn off these default Apple and Google notifications.
Important messages from the NHS COVID-19 app will always be visible to you from inside the app. This includes when you need to self-isolate. If you do need to self-isolate, the NHS COVID-19 app will also have a countdown timer so that you can keep track of how long you need to self-isolate.
Most of the notifications are just to remind you that the functionality is on and working. You may receive an automatic notification, called “Possible COVID-19 Exposure”. Read more about the “Possible COVID-19 Exposure” notification.