The NHS COVID-19 app is no longer in use and the Isle of Wight trial has now ended. This is archived information from 18 June 2020. If you still have the app, please uninstall it.
To work, NHS COVID-19 randomly generates a random, unique ID for the app on your phone. The app then records:
- how long you are close to another anonymous app user
- the date and time of these encounters
- the signal strength of other anonymous app users’ Bluetooth, to work out how far apart you were from them
This data will remain on your phone and cannot be accessed by anyone unless you choose to upload it if you later develop symptoms of coronavirus. You can delete the app and all data held by it whenever you want.
If you develop coronavirus symptoms and choose to share the anonymous record on your phone with the NHS, this data will be stored in a secure database in the UK.
The NHS will then send an anonymous alert to app users who you came into significant contact with over the previous few days. This alert will not identify you in any way.